Skip to content

Meet Crystal

My name is Crystal Stephens and I am married to my wonderful and very hard working husband Nate.  I am also the mother of two amazing daughters, Riley, age 5 and Olivia, age 4.  We have lived in Higganum for the past 5 years and I have been extremely lucky to be a stay at home mom.  I have enjoyed being with my girls on a daily basis, including teaching, guiding, and having fun with them.

One of the reasons I decided to start Rose Buddies Daycare was to be able to stay at home with my children but also experience the working atmosphere which I have missed over the last couple of years.  As far as my background and experience, I have always wanted to work with children.  I worked at a daycare for four years, three of which were in the infant room. While I was working at the daycare I went to school to become a medical assistant in hopes of working in pediatrics.  When I became pregnant with my second daughter shorty after beginning my work in the medical field, I decided to become a stay at home mom.  I remain a certified medical assistant and am CPR certified.  I have many other certifications from working at the daycare and taking classes.  I also have experience working with children with disabilities.

I hold the following certificates:

  • The Power of Positive Guidance
  • Factors Influencing Child Development
  • Individualizing Curriculum To meet the needs, strengths, and Interest of each child
  • Establishing mutually productive relationships with families
  • Advancing Children’s Social and Emotional Development: Temperaments of Infants and Toddlers
  • Providing a Safe, Healthy and Purposeful Learning Environment: Curriculum Themes, Projects and Activities
  • Advancing Professionalism in School-Age Child Care
  • Assessing Children’s learning and development
  • Advancing Children’s social and emotional development
  • Advancing Children’s Physical and Intellectual development: Learning through play
  • Developmentally appropriate practices
  • Mandated Child Abuse Reporting procedures

I have the love and desire to work with children and help them form their personalities while letting them create, explore, and learn through play.  I hope to be a good match for your family and for your son or daughter!  I recognize each child is an individual with unique needs.  I will always strive to nurture, recognize, develop and cherish each child and his/her personality.